Home > Uncategorized > Experience the Wonder of Christmas Anew This Year

Experience the Wonder of Christmas Anew This Year

the-annual-church-christmas-play

It’s been a busy year! I haven’t posted as much as I would have liked, but I thank those of you who subscribe, check out the blog itself, and follow me on Twitter.  This year I concentrated more of my social media attention on our store’s Facebook page, trying to make it a destination for Christian community events that people will want to check regularly.

My own sales were somewhat flat this year, compared to 2015. I guess I’ve tried to be more precise and accurate in my buying, but still willing to take risks. As a result, there are always mistakes, but fortunately fewer. I’m learning that I simply can’t assume anything as to how the market is going to respond, so it’s best to tread carefully.

I’ll have another post next week about the year in review, if you have anything to contribute please send it.

…I find it so easy to get caught up in the retail cycle that we don’t have time to slow down and allow our hearts to rediscover the meaning of the season. I try to find something new in the narrative each year, something that I’ve previously missed. I hope you can do the same. I know you’re exhausted, but try to get to a service in your community this weekend. When you work at the Christian bookstore, every church is home.

Also, it’s important at this time of year to thank God for all that has taken place in our stores and all which continues to take place in the lives of our customers as they use the resources we make available. Just yesterday I helped a woman and her daughter who wanted to pick out a Bible story book. She seemed only passively interested until she saw The Jesus Storybook Bible and then she smiled and said, “That’s the one! That’s the one Mrs. ______ reads from.” Except for a second when I needed to check the price, she held on to it tightly as they walked out the door. Those moments make it so worthwhile.

I wish you all God’s best as you enjoy Christmas with friends, family and your faith community.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

