Home > Uncategorized > To the people who sent me all the free magazines…

To the people who sent me all the free magazines…

newspapers

To the publisher…

I am very sorry that I was unable to distribute all the copies of your magazine you sent to me, but try as I may I can’t get people to pick up things from the rack inside the door. Personally, when I visit a church or a Christian bookstore or something like that, I always look for those free newspapers and magazines, because I am a person who likes to know what’s going on in the Christian world, as well as being a bit of a newspaper and magazine junkie. Even when far from home, I’ll still pick up local ministry publications, and missions things, because I like to read the kind of thing you publish. But I will be the first to admit that I seem to be a bit of an exception.

I’ve even tried tricks like inserting some of your back issues inside your current issues. I’ve stuffed copies in bags at our store before people knew I was doing it; trying to target people I thought might enjoy your articles.

Still, it really hurt to have to throw all this stuff out in the recycling bin today. I feel bad for your advertisers, who were probably told that you print and distribute “X” number of copies. Their message simply didn’t get out to our area. But I know that you also receive donations, and I feel bad for your donors, because some of the money they donated toward your printing and distribution costs is now going into the garbage. All in all, this is a great waste of ministry resources. It’s not good stewardship.

recycling-binBut I have to end this by saying something that is going to hurt: I never asked you send this stuff in the first place. It was your decision to not to be a controlled circulation publication; it was your decision to mail copies in bulk to places you’ve never seen and organizations you never spoke with in advance. Again, we never asked for all these things to be dumped on our doorstep. And we have so many other things to think about, that getting your magazines or newspapers distributed wasn’t at the top of our list.

We were simply trying to make the best out of an awkward situation. But after hanging on to these things well beyond their street date, I am afraid they are off to recycling.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Fazal Karim
    November 12, 2015 at 5:02 am

    Okay, so now you’ve got me curious. Which magazine?

    Blessings, Fazal

    Fazal Karim, Jr. Publisher/Editor-in-Chief

    The Christian Herald newspaper P.O. Box 68526, Brampton ON Canada L6R 0J8 Tel: 905-874-1731 Fax: 905-874-1781 Web: http://www.christianherald.ca Email: info@christianherald.ca

    >

    • November 12, 2015 at 9:01 am

      This was a reprint of an older article that appeared at Thinking Out Loud and may have appeared here as well. I can’t remember who all was in my sights but I seem to recall it involved a folded newspaper (not yours) and we would bundle issues inside other issues to try to get them out the door. There was also a magazine that came from western Canada for students looking for a Bible college.

      And just this week I threw out a stack of promotional flyers for the Beth Moore conference that I had told the representative were far too many for our market. Waste of money. Our staff did their best to get them out there, though.

      Christian Herald never arrives unsolicited; I go out of my way to make sure we have some copies, and it is helpful in compiling information for our store newsletter.

      I think the recipients of unsolicited periodicals need to be more vocal, though; if they’re not moving through, let the publisher know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

