Home > Uncategorized > Bookstore Owners/Managers Appreciation Month

Bookstore Owners/Managers Appreciation Month

Okay, I know it’s really Pastors Appreciation Month, but just once, it would be nice to recognize the people who toil on the frontlines of ministry in the commercial marketplace. I don’t think I’m alone in suggesting that the psyche occasionally craves affirmation.

We do get the, “I’m so glad you turned me on to that author…” type of comments, but they are often few and far between. We do pray with people in the store, but then we might not see that customer for months, and have no idea how the story turned out. (We keep some of those prayer requests on our refrigerator at home and remember them on a regular basis.)

In the absence of huge return-on-investment profits, I think the thing that drives (most of) us are the intangibles; the knowledge that we’re making a difference in the lives of our customers.

I’m not looking for cards or flowers or someone to throw me a party, but as we came through two months of our anniversary in ministry (20 years in Cobourg, 40 years total) it would have been nice if just one person said, “That’s a long time you’ve doing this;” or “You’ve certainly remained faithful to this.”

Faithful or stubborn? Some days I’m not sure which. I just have to keep reminding myself that of the ten lepers, only one came back to say thanks. Actually, I’d take that percentage right now.

Maybe people just don’t see the ministry value. Perhaps to some it’s just a retail transaction. To me, it is so much more than that.


Today’s question: Are you invited to your city/town’s local ministerial meetings? Have you ever made a presentation at one? Been invited to attend on a regular basis? Or does your town restrict attendance to actual ordained clergy?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

