Home > Uncategorized > Telephone Order

Telephone Order

I recognized the number on call display as that of a regular customer…

Him: I need you to order ten copies of the book I picked up the other day.

Me:  Which book is that?

Him: Let me go get the copy.  [Sets the phone down, and returns]

Me:  Actually just read me the number under the barcode.

Him: 978…    and the title is…

Me:  Okay. Got it. And you want ten copies.

Him:  No, I want you order ten copies.  I’m probably only going to buy five of them.

Me:  Wait, what?

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 5, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    this happens to me all the time. or a pastor that is going to recommend a book during a sermon so wants me to order in 5 or 6. Yeah not happening.

    • February 5, 2015 at 5:13 pm

      Or worse, there really are six people in a group, and the order comes in and the customer says, “I’ll just tell them to pick them all up individually.” About half do, the rest buy online. And the customer lands on our “never again” list.

  2. February 10, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    I dont offer a church discount but I offer 10% off orders of ten or more and 20% off orders of twenty or more for this exact reason. I used to have bible studies order in bulk then pick up individually and I was always stuck with 1-3 left at the end. with the discount they get one person to pick them up and I am done and dont have to worry. saves alot of headaches

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

