Home > Uncategorized > Why I’m Asking to Be Removed from Faith Today’s Mailing List

Why I’m Asking to Be Removed from Faith Today’s Mailing List

Dear Faith Today / Evangelical Fellowship of Canada:

As you know, I’ve been as supportive as I can of EFC in general and Faith Today specifically, as I am able to be with the limited financial resources at my disposal as a Christian bookseller. I have bought advertising, contributed material to articles, and assisted in the distribution and awareness of the magazine. I think the voice of EFC is needed both on Parliament Hill and in other parts of the public square.

As a bookseller, you’d expect me to be quite pleased with this month’s 4+ page feature, What We’ll Be Reading on the Dock This Summer.  Normally, anything that advocates for books and reading is in my corner.

But the preponderance of Amazon links throughout the article — and elsewhere in the magazine — were the proverbial last straw. The issue of online sales aside, these referrals weren’t even to a Canadian competitor. Faith Today is doing what so many Christians are doing worldwide, and joining in the declaration of Amazon as the default distributor of books, period; and we’ve written elsewhere how the values of the founder are not shared with many Evangelicals.

I hope you understand therefore why, for the time being, I need to withdraw my support. You simply don’t get how much it hurts.

Paul Wilkinson.

  1. July 21, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Amazon is ‘easy’ – too easy – and that’s how they lead the market. I’m planning to put my ebooks on Smashwords. Self-published authors, may I encourage you to investigate it. A free platform (they take a small cut from each book sold) for all but Kindle readers. Apple, Nook, Kobo all through Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/

  2. July 21, 2013 at 5:31 am

    As to Hard copy – that’s a tougher one on which to avoid Amazon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

