Home > Uncategorized > Congratulations to Tyndale Publishing House on 50 Years

Congratulations to Tyndale Publishing House on 50 Years

As the story goes, Ken Taylor wrote Living Letters on a commuter train to read to his kids in their nightly family Bible story time.  Armed with yellow lined paper and a copy of the NRSV, he restated the text in words they could relate to. 

And a whole lot of other people related to those words, too.  When nobody was interested in a publishing deal, Ken formed Tyndale House Publishers which turns 50 this year.

I have a threefold relationship with the company that’s identified in my internal systems simply as TYN. 

  • I’m a longtime consumer.  We share the same values and I respect their product integrity. Readers of my two other blogs will note that when I need a go-to translation for a scripture, my preference is NLT.
  • I’m a blogger. Tyndale, Nelson and Zondervan have been most generous with print review copies, and though I haven’t done much with Tyndale product in the past year, I appreciate the opportunity that exists.
  • I’m a retailer. At this point, I’m prepared to say; “Two out of three ain’t bad.” I don’t let the politics of retail cloud my admiration for the company’s products, though I really do wish a lot of things were different right now.

So congratulations to Mark Taylor and the rest of the gang at Tyndale.  I most sincerely wish you all God’s best in the years to come.

The picture above is from a photo history of the company.  Click this link and then click the small boxes under the timeline.  See also the company’s 50th Anniversary press release.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

